WASS hosts the 2018 Ghana Energy Awards’ Energy Personalities Outreach Program

WASS hosts the 2018 Ghana Energy Awards’ Energy Personalities Outreach Program

Students urged to be ambitious

Winners of the 2018 Energy Personality of the Year awards have urged students of the West Africa Senior High School in Accra to have a clear vision of their future and work tirelessly to achieve their ambitions.

Interacting with over 500 students during the Energy Personalities Outreach Programme (EPOP) held at the school’s premises, Mrs Abigail Asolange Harlley, the Chief Executive AI Group and the Female Energy Personality of the Year encouraged the students to have ambitions that reflect their passion and contributes to problem-solving in the community.

Sharing personal examples, Mrs Harlley stressed the essence of research in their desired career areas to help them gain appreciable understanding of that sector and better prepare themselves for any window of opportunity they identify.

Mr Emmanuel Antwi Darkwa, the Chief Executive of the Voltage River Authority (VRA) and the Energy Personality of the Year (Male category) underscored the importance of leadership in any field.

He said it was necessary for the students to give critical thought to what they want to do in future, particularly at their young age and the kind of impact they want to make in society. This would help them stay committed and focused on that vision.


Dr Kwame Ampofo, Chairman of the Awarding Panel of the Ghana Energy Awards, noted that a special feature of the Ghana Energy Awards is to organise an outreach programme for the winners of the coveted Energy Personality of the Year awards.

He said the objective of the programme is for “the personalities to share their rare experiences with the youth of the country, especially at the second cycle level so that their knowledge and business acumen will be impacted to the leaders of tomorrow”. This, he added, is to ensure sustained growth of the industry.

Ing. Henry Teinor, Director of the awards said the programme is also to inspire the younger generation to aspire to become the best they can be, and especially develop an interest in the energy sector, which is a critical contributor to Ghana’s economy.

Last year, the Achimota School hosted the first event of EPOP with the 2017 Energy Personalities; Dr Alfred Ofosu-Ahenkorah, Executive Secretary of the Energy Commission, and Madam Kate Quartey-Papafio, Chief Executive of Reroy Group.


Mr Emmanuel Antwi-Darkwa, the Energy Personality of the Year 2018 (Male category), is a Civil Engineer with over thirty years’ experience in Ghana’s energy sector, his expertise spanning functional and infrastructural developments, regulatory influences in the country’s energy sector, and the dynamics of international power systems development. He is currently the Chief Executive of the VRA where he began his career in 1985.

The female Energy Personality of the Year (Female category), Mrs. Abigail Asolange Harlley, is the co-founder and Chief Executive Officer of AI Energy Group. She has over two decades of leadership and business management experience gained from Ghana’s financial sector, governmental and non-governmental authorities and international organizations. She has served in various management capacities including credit administration, industrial management and business development.

Ghana Energy Awards

The Ghana Energy Awards Scheme is an industry-owned initiative being executed in partnership with the various government regulating agencies within the sector, and seeks to recognise and appreciate the exemplary efforts of stakeholders in Ghana’s energy sector. It is organised by the Energy Media Group in partnership with CH Business Consulting Ghana.


Source: Energy Ghana





Connect with on Facebook