6th Ghana Energy Awards honours 31 individuals, companies

The 2022 edition of the prestigious Ghana Energy Awards on Friday November 25, 2022 honoured 31 individuals and institutions in Ghana’s energy industry for sterling contributions to the growth of the sector.

Under the theme: “Global Decarbonisation: A Just and Equitable Energy Transition in Ghana,” the 6th GEA was graced by His Excellency Dr Mahamudu Bawumia, Vice President of the Republic, the Dr Mohammed Amin Adam, Deputy Minister of Energy, the Australian and Turkish Ambassadors, and several members of the diplomatic community.

At the end of the event, the Volta River Authority ’s Chief Executive Ing. Emmanuel Antwi-Darkwa emerged the Energy Personality of the Year (male category), with Ing. Harriet Amissah Arthur taking the title in the female category.

Bui Power Authority’s Kofi Dzamesi won the Chief Executive of the Year, while Edwin Provencal, CEO of the Bulk Oil Storage and Transportation Company (BOST), picked the title in the petroleum category.

Attending the event on the President Nana Akufo-Addo’s behalf, Vice President Dr Mahamudu Bawumia noted that the Ghana Energy Awards has been consistent in proving its mettle as a worthy stakeholder in the energy sector, adding that the scheme does well to engender more creativity among industry leaders to provide solutions that speak to prevailing challenges.

The theme of the event, he said, was just apt in encapsulating the ongoing global conversation on the energy transition. “This choice of theme could not have come at a more opportune time than this as it aptly captures the conversation of the day, from a bird’s eye view and zooms in on our country’s interpretation and subsequent action on it,” he noted.

Organised by the Energy Media Group (EMG), in partnership with GP Business Consulting, the Awards, which aims to promote excellence and innovation in the country’s energy sector, is endorsed by the Ministry of Energy, and the World Energy Council Ghana.

Ing. Henry Teinor, Chief Executive of EMG and the event’s director, in his welcome address said with the steady growth of the GEA, the organisers will launch the maiden edition of the West Africa Power and Petroleum Awards (WAPPA) in 2023, with the event itself to be held in 2024.

“This WAPPA scheme is to celebrate the achievements of Heads of States and Sector Ministers in energy development, and will create valuable partnerships with strategic bodies and stakeholders in West Africa. As a bi-annual event, the first edition will be held in Ghana,” he explained.

Meanwhile, a special non-competitive section of the Ghana Energy Awards also posthumously conferred on the late Professor Allotey the Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of his numerous contributions to the energy sector’s growth. It was received by his family.  Exemplary Leadership, Women in Energy, and Osagyefo Young Leadership Awards.

Below is the full list of award winners:


  1. Energy Personality (Male): Ing. Emmanuel Antwi-Darkwa Chief Executive, Volta River Authority
  2. Energy Personality (Female): Ing. Harriette Amissah-Arthur – Executive Partner, Arthur Energy Advisors
  3. CEO of the Year (Power): Hon. Samuel Dzamesi – Chief Executive, Bui Power Authority
  4. CEO of the Year (Petroleum): Edwin Provencal – Managing Director, Bulk Oil Storage and Transportation Company
  5. Rising Star Award: Dr Riverson Oppong – Manager (Commercial Operations), Ghana National Gas Company
  6. Energy Institution of the Year: Energy Commission
  7. Energy Company of the Year (Power): Ghana Grid Company
  8. Energy Company of the Year (Petroleum): PETROSOL
  9. Energy Company of the Year (Renewable): Bui Power Authority
  10. Innovation Project of the Year: Meinergy Technology
  11. Emerging Energy Company of the Year: Done By Us
  12. Energy Think Tank of the Year: Chamber of Petroleum Consumers Ghana
  13. Brand of the Year: Public Utilities Regulatory Commission
  14. Corporate Social Responsibility of the Year: Ghana National Petroleum Corporation
  15. Health and Safety Excellence Award: Ghana National Gas Company
  16. Excellence in Power Generation: Volta River Authority
  17. Clean Energy Initiative of the Year: Sunon Asogli Power
  18. Off-grid Energy Solution of the Year: Wilkins Engineering
  19. Visionary Leadership Award: Ing. Emmanuel Antwi-Darkwa Chief Executive, Volta River Authority
  20. Eco-Innovation Business Award: Bui Power Authority
  21. Outstanding Energy Management Award: Prof. Kwaku Appiah-Adu – National Coordinator, Energy Sector Recovery Programme
  22. Novel Deployment of R.E. Technology Award: ¬Council for Scientific and Industrial Research – Institute of Industrial Research (CSIR-IIR)
  23. Sustainable Energy Partnership of the Year: Sustainable Energy Technologies Limited
  24. Energy Reporter of the Year: Rebekah Adwoa Awuah, Ghana Broadcasting Corporation


  1. Lifetime Achievement Award: Professor Francis Kofi Ampenyin Allotey
  2. Exemplary Leadership Award: Samuel Dubik Masubir Mahama – Managing Director, Electricity Company of Ghana
  3. Women In Energy Excellence Award: Augustina Osei Asare – Senior Manager (Government Relations), Ghana National Gas Company
  4. Osagyefo Young Leadership (2022): Ishmael Ackah (PhD) – Executive Secretary, Public Utilities Regulatory Commission
  5. Sustainable Business Trailblazer Award: GOIL
  6. Exceptional Achievement Award: James Kwoku Ahiadome – Chief Executive Officer, J.K. Ahiadome Transport
  7. Public Service Excellence Award: Dr Mustapha Abdul-Hamid – Chief Executive, National Petroleum Authority
  8. Executive Business Distinction Award: Dr. Ben K. D. Asante – Chief Executive Officer, Ghana Gas.


  1. Exceptional Commitment to Africa’s Energy Transition Honorary Award: Hon. Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh, Minister of Energy

Source: Energy Ghana






Connect with on Facebook