Ghana Energy Awards honours 29 individuals and companies

A total of 29 individuals and companies in Ghana’s energy sector have been appreciated at the 2018 edition of the Ghana Energy Awards held at the Movenpic Ambassador Hotel in Accra last Friday.

Dr Wereko-Brobbey and Lawyer Tsatsu Tsikata were especially honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award. The special non-competitive awards were in recognition of their immeasurable contributions towards Ghana’s energy sector particularly at a time when the country was yet to discover oil in commercial quantities.

Dr Wereko-Brobbey was recognised for his notable efforts regarding policy and related critical issues in the sector that have formed the core mandates of the Energy Commission.

Accepting the award on behalf of Dr Wereko-Brobbey, Dr Alfred Ofosu-Ahenkorah, Executive Secretary of the Energy Commission, lauded the organisers and noted that the recipient of the award was grateful for the recognition which was given just at the right time when he was still alive and not posthumously.

Lawyer Tsikata was also celebrated for his work in the sector, notable among which included his roles in the formation of the Ghana National Petroleum Company, now Corporation.

Personally receiving the award, Lawyer Tsikata commended the organisers of the event for the thoughtfulness behind the awards scheme and for the recognition given him. He further dedicated the award to the staff of the GNPC and other stakeholders he had worked with to start the company and move it to where it now stands.

In a statement read on his behalf by Mr. Solomon Adjetey, Director of Generation and Transmission at the Ministry of Energy, the Energy Minister, Mr John Peter Amewu urged industry players to take advantage of government policies to enable them to grow.

Dr Kwame Ampofo, Chairman of the Awarding Panel also encouraged industry players to give their best for the sector and the country as a whole. “Don’t let your performance end after the recognition but let it be the starting point for greater works,” he noted.

Mr Henry Teinor, the event director, said the annual event is sheduled for the last Friday of every November. “The massive turnout at this year’s event is a sign that we have improved the scheme hence leading to the patronage,” he added.

At the height of the event however, the Chief Executive of the Volta River Authority, Mr Emmanuel Antwi-Darkwa, took home the prestigious apex award of the Energy Personality of the Year in the male category while Mrs Abigail Asolange Harlley, Chief Executive of AI Group, emerged winner in the female category.

Ing. Samuel Boakye-Appia, Chief Executive of the Electricity Company of Ghana (ECG) and Dr Ben K. Asante, Chief Executive of the Ghana National Gas Company both emerged the CEO of the Year in the Power and Petroleum categories respectively.

The second edition of the Awards also honoured Senyo Hosi, Chief Executive of the Chamber of Bulk Oil Distributors (CBOD) in the Osagyefo Young Leadership Award category for his outstanding efforts in the Petroleum downstream subsector.

The Ghana Energy Awards is aimed at recognising innovation and excellence to spur industry stakeholders to achieve and contribute more toward the growth of the sector.

Below is the full list of Winners for the various categories:

Energy Personality of The Year – Male – Mr. Emmanuel Antwi-Darkwa – VRA

Energy Personality of the Year – Female – Mrs Abigail Asolange Harlley – AI Group

CEO of The Year – Power – Ing. Samuel Boakye – Appiah – ECG

CEO of The Year – Petroleum – Dr Ben K. Asante – GHANA GAS

Industry Leadership Award – Power – Bui Power Authority

Industry Leadership Award – Petroleum – Ghana Gas

Energy Company of The Year – Renewable – Dutch & Co

Energy Company of The Year – Petroleum – GOIL

Energy Company of The Year – Power Volta River Authority

Energy Institution of The Year – Energy Commission

Rising Star Award Individual – Prosper Ahmed Amuquandoh

Best Energy Reporter – Michael Creg Afful – Oman FM

Emerging Energy Company of The Year – Power – Ameri- Energy

Emerging Energy Company of The Year – Petroleum – WI Energy

Emerging Energy Company of The Year – Renewable – Sun In Limited

Innovation Project of The Year – Energy Commission

Corporate Social Responsibility Companyof The Year – Kosmos Energy – Kosmos Innovation Center

Energy Consultancy Services Company of the Year – Arthur Energy Advisors

Off-Grid Energy Solution Company of the Year – PEG Africa

Energy Efficient Organisation of the Year – Private – Special Ice

Strategic Deal of the Year – Karpowership

Excellence in Power Generation – Sunon Asogli

Energy Efficient Organisation of the Year – Public – CSIR – Institute of Scientific & Industrial Reasearch

Energy Business Leadership Award – Female – Kate Quartey-Papafio – Reroy Group

Energy Business Leadership Award – Male – Dr. Tony Oteng-Gyasi –Tropical Cables

Brand of the Year – Total Petroleum



Connect with on Facebook