3rd Ghana Energy Awards honours 11 individuals, 17 companies

3rd Ghana Energy Awards honours 11 individuals, 17 companies

The 2019 edition of the Ghana Energy Awards (GEA) has honoured some eleven outstanding personalities and 17 organisations within the country’s energy sector for their efforts and innovation toward the growth of the sector.

Under the theme, “Energy, the Key to a Sustainable Economy for Industrialisation”, the third event of the prestigious awards took place at the Labadi Beach Hotel, Accra and was well attended by the Minister of Energy, John Peter Amewu, the Deputy Minister of Energy in charge of Petroleum, Dr Mohammed Amin Adam and the Hungarian Ambassador to Ghana, His Excellency Andras Szabo.

Also present were the Deputy Minister of Fisheries and MP for Ekumfi, Ato Cudjoe, the Deputy Director-General of NADMO, Seji Saji, the MP for Ayawaso West Wuogon, Lydia Seyram Alhassan, Member of Parliament for Ablekuma Central, Ebenezer Nartey, and MP for Mfantseman, Ekow Hayford, as well as several other government officials, international diplomats and representatives of international agencies.

At the height of the event, Chief Executive of the Ghana National Gas Company, Dr Ben K.D. Asante and the UBI Group’s CEO, Salma Okonkwo received the much-coveted recognition of the night – Energy Personality of the Year, in both male and female categories.

The non-competitive section of the awards honoured some key personalities in the sector whose efforts in the past and recent times have been significantly instrumental in the growth of the sector.

These distinguished personalities included the Minister of Energy, John Peter Amewu (Exemplary Leadership Award) – acknowledged for his immense contribution to the sector since his appointment; a former Chief Executive of the Volta River Authority (VRA), Mr Alexander Erasmus Kalitsi (Lifetime Achievement Award)– recognised for his roles in the development of VRA; and Executive Director of the Africa Centre for Energy Policy (ACEP), Benjamin Boakye (Osagyefo Young Leadership Award) – honoured for his influence in the energy sector through policy direction, capacity building and advocating for inclusion of Persons with Disability (PwDs) in the extractives sector.

Delivering the keynote address, the Minister of Energy, John Peter Amewu, noted that the country is doing well in terms of power generation and exporting to Togo and surrounding countries.

He noted that the awards were a well-thought-out scheme to recognise the force behind development in the sector. He reiterated government’s commitment in ensuring that all power and related agreements in the sector would be those that benefit the country.

Ing. Henry Teinor, director of the event noted that the Ghana Energy Awards scheme has gotten better in all respects and has duly been accepted as the industry benchmark and renowned among other award schemes in the country.

He added that the scheme has consistently realized its aim of acknowledging and honouring deserving individuals and companies in Ghana’s energy sector.

Award Winners

At the end of the awards event, the CEO of VRA, Emmanuel Antwi-Darkwa emerged winner of the CEO of the Year, ‘Power’ category while the CEO of the National Petroleum Authority (NPA), Alhassan Tampuli was adjudged winner in the Petroleum category.

Ernest Amissah, the CEO of Sun Power Innovations won the Rising Star Award in the Individual category whereas petroleum downstream company PETROSOL won the Rising Star Award in the ‘Company’ category.

Ghana’s upstream regulator, Petroleum Commission took home the Energy Institution of the Year award while both the Innovation Project of the Year and the Clean Energy Initiative of the Year awards went to the VRA.

Springfield Group also emerged winner in the Strategic Deal of the Year category.

The Industry Leadership Award for the ‘Power’ category went to the Ghana Grid Company (GRIDCo) while the Ghana Oil Company (GOIL) emerged winner in the ‘Petroleum’ Category.

Meanwhile, the Bui Power Authority won the Energy Company of the Year for the ‘Power’ category, the Ghana National Gas Company bagged the same award in the ‘Petroleum’ category, with the Strategic Security Systems taking home the same Award in the ‘Renewable’ category. The Emerging Energy Company of the Year went to Webber Energy.

Senyo Hosi, the Chief Executive of the Chamber of Bulk Oil Distributors (CBOD) was adjudged winner in the Energy Business Leadership Award (Male category) while Efuwa Quansah, the Country Director of PEG Ghana, took home the same award in the female category.

Energy think-tank Africa Centre for Energy Policy (ACEP) won the Energy Consultancy Service Company of the Year while Vivo Energy won the Brand of the Year. Corporate Social Responsibility of the Year went to Kosmos Energy while Karpowership went home with the Excellence in Power Generation award.

Ashesi University was adjudged winner in the Energy Efficient Organization of the Year (Private category) while the Energy Commission won the same award in the ‘Public’ category.

Meanwhile, Michael Creg Afful of Oman FM won the Best Energy Reporter of the Year, with Total Ghana picking up the Off-Grid Energy Solution of the Year award.


Source: Energy Ghana



Connect with on Facebook