Ghana Gas, UBI Group CEOs emerge Energy Personalities of the Year

Ghana Gas, UBI Group CEOs emerge Energy Personalities of the Year

The Chief Executive Officer of Ghana Gas, Dr Ben K.D Asante has been recognized as the Energy Personality of the Year at the Ghana Energy Awards 2019.

The award was for his excellent performance in the country’s energy sector.

Notable among his achievements was the transformation of the Ghana National Gas Company to become a major player in the power sector both locally and internationally.

Dr. Asante, since 2017, initiated some policies including the maintenance of a balance sheet from bad to clean, recording a profit of over $60million and the acquisition of an ultra-modern office space in Accra to serve as the company’s head office as well as the construction of a gas complex for his outfit at their operational base at Allabokazo in the Western Region.

Under his supervision, the company has successfully completed two tie-ins at Sanzule which has increased gas production from 90 million cubic feet to 350 million cubic feet.

A speech read on his behalf after receiving the award said, “The award is a testament of the work that he has been doing since he was appointed as CEO of Ghana Gas for over 29 years of experience.”

Chief Executive Officer of UBI Group, Salma Okonkwo, also emerged Female Energy Personality of the Year.

She established the company in 2008 with the aim to close the energy supply gap in Northern Ghana by trading diesel and petroleum wholesale and operating retail gas.

The Energy Minister, John Peter Amewu, in his keynote address, indicated that his outfit is pursuing its broad policy goal to ensure that the country has adequate, reliable and competitively-priced power for domestic, commercial and industrial use and also for exports.

“For the first time in the history of this country, export arrangements are currently underway between Ghana-Burkina Faso, Ghana-Benin, and Ghana-Togo and the country Ghana is now exporting almost 250MW of power on daily basis to these countries” He said.

Mr. Amewu was honoured with Exemplary Leadership Award at the event for his immense contribution to the sector since his appointment.

Other awards

Lifetime Achievement Award – Erasmus Alexander Kalitsi (Former VRA CEO)

Osagyefo Young Leadership Award – Dr. Ben Boakye

CEO of the Year (Power) – Emmanuel Antwi-Darkwa (CEO – VRA)

CEO of the Year (Petroleum) – Alhassan Tampuli (CEO – NPA)

Rising Star (Individual) – Ernest Amissah (CEO – Sun Power Innovations)

Rising Star (Company) – PETROSOL

Energy Institution of the Year – Petroleum Commission

Industry Leadership Award (Power) – GRIDCO

Industry Leadership Award (Petroleum) – GOIL

Energy Company of the Year (Power) – Bui Power Authority

Energy Company of the Year (Petroleum) – Ghana Gas

Energy Company of the Year (Renewable) – Strategic Security Systems

Innovation Project of the Year – VRA

Strategic Deal of the Year – Springfield

Energy Business Leadership Award (Male) – Senyo Hosi (CEO – CBOD)

Energy Business Leadership Award (Female) – Efua Quansah (Country Director – PEG Ghana)

Emerging Energy Company of the Year – Webber Energy

Energy Consultancy Service Company of the Year – ACEP

Brand of the Year – Vivo Energy

Corporate Social Responsibility of the Year – Kosmos Energy

Excellence in Power Generation – Karpowership

Clean Energy Initiative of the Year – VRA

Off-Grid Energy Solution of the Year – Total Ghana

Energy Efficient Organization of the Year (Private) – Ashesi University

Energy Efficient Organization of the Year (Public) – Energy Commission

Best Energy Reporter of the Year – Michael Creg Afful – Oman FM



Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Connect with on Facebook